top of page

The Mission of the Louisiana Parent Teacher Association

The Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is the oldest and largest child advocacy organization in America. Comprising over 2.5 million parents, teachers, grandparents, caregivers, foster parents, and other concerned adults, today's PTA is dedicated to enhancing the education, health, and safety of all children. We advocate with one voice for every child. Numerous benefits that children enjoy today, such as universal kindergarten, the National School Lunch Program, and the juvenile justice system, have been achieved through the PTA's efforts. The PTA's extensive network empowers parents with the platform and tools to collectively shape the decisions impacting children. This advocacy is distinctive to PTA. Why do we PTA? To make every child's potential a reality!

2024-25 LAPTA Board of Directors as of July 1, 2024

We are always looking for volunteers to serve on the Louisiana PTA Board of Directors to either Chair a Committee or just be a committee member that helps out! Please contact any member of our Board to talk about joining our krewe!

Beth Maillho, President

President@LouisianaPTA.org

Hello! My name is Beth Maillho (pronounced Mail-Oh). This is my 16th year serving as a PTA Officer. I'm married to Andre, and we have four children. Our youngest is currently a senior at Mandeville High School in Mandeville, LA. Professionally, I am a REALTOR, and I also engage in volunteer work with Rachel's Vineyard Ministries, foster newborn babies, and more.

Open, Vice-President of Affiliation

Affiliation@LouisianaPTA.org

Jennifer Hale, VP of Leadership Development

Leader.Develop@LouisianaPTA.org

Latonyaw Thompson-Richmond, Secretary 

Secretary@LouisianaPTA.org

Giselle Allen, Federal Legislative Chair

FLC@LouisianaPTA.org

Rachel Penwell, Reflections Chair

Reflections@LouisianaPTA.org

Philip Davis, Lagniappe PTSA Representative

President@LagniappePTSA.org

Giselle Allen, LAPTA Administrative Director

Office@LouisianaPTA.org

Open, Advocacy Chair

Advocacy@LouisianaPTA.org

Ashley Snell, Treasurer

Treasurer@LouisianaPTA.org

Peggy Mauer, Membership Committee Chair

Membership@LouisianaPTA.org

image.png

Jessica Latin, Healthy Minds Champion

HealthyMinds@LouisianaPTA.org

Doris Glass-Heckert, Special Populations Chair 

Special.Populations@LouisianaPTA.org

Tera Blackledge, Events Committee Chair

Events@LouisianaPTA.org

Open, Awards, Grants, and Contests Chair 

Contests@LouisianaPTA.org

Open, Inclusion and DIO 

Inclusion@LouisianaPTA.org

LAPTA Toolkit Sec 1. Louisiana PTA and National PTA

Louisiana PTA Office; Board of Directors................................. 4

History of Louisiana PTA................................................................... 5

Louisiana PTA Office........................................................................... 6

What does LAPTA Do?........................................................................ 6

Mission Partners of LAPTA............................................................... 7

Friends of LAPTA................................................................................... 7

About National PTA.............................................................................. 8

National PTA Standards for Family-School Partnerships....9

Bylaws for Louisiana PTA

Contact LAPTA

bottom of page